Roll Call: Meredith Turner, Director of Communications

By: Lexi Smith, Communications Coordinator

MeredithMeet our Director of Communications, Meredith Turner. Her responsibilities at the DRC include event marketing, managing social media, creating website content, writing blog posts, email marketing, taking photos, and more. Meredith’s goal is to increase awareness of DRC events and leadership initiatives, reinforce the DRC as a thought leader and advocate in the community, add value for members, and position the Dallas region as the most prosperous and dynamic economy in the U.S.

What were your first impressions of the DRC?
Everyone at the DRC has such a positive attitude! They are excited to be here and passionate about the work they are doing. I’m lucky to be a part of this.

How would your family and friends describe you?
My nickname growing up was “Mer-Mo.” The “Mo” is short for “Motion.” It’s hard for me to sit down and I’m constantly on the go.

What is your biggest accomplishment?
My two boys! Graham is two and a half and Will is six months old.

How did you get started in the marketing and communications industry?
My first job was at the National Republican Congressional Committee in Washington, DC. I was in the political division working on campaigns, and I like to think I was helping “market” candidates. But my first REAL marketing position was at the U.S. Telecom Association where I marketed events, created marketing materials, and sat as a witness at the hole-in-one during the annual convention’s golf tournament. I further developed my marketing, communications and branding skills in a Congressional office in DC, at the Austin Chamber, Texas Medical Association, Interbrand, and Wyndham Jade.

What was your most memorable birthday?
My 30th! I relived my 10th birthday – a bounce house, piñata, kid-friendly snacks, the works! 

What is something that your co-workers would be surprised to learn about you?
Hmmmmm… This is always a hard question. My grandfather is a former Mayor of University Park. Does that count?

1 Comment

Filed under Chamber Communications

One response to “Roll Call: Meredith Turner, Director of Communications

  1. Howdy, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was
    just curious if you get a lot of spam feedback? If so how do you reduce it, any plugin or anything you can advise?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any support
    is very much appreciated.